Homemade Taco Seasoning

Taco Seasoning Mixed Up

Taco Seasoning Mixed Up

My family loves Mexican dishes so I used to buy the Taco Seasoning packets all the time! Then, I heard on the news that they contain really bad additives. So I did some researching on the internet and compared several homemade recipes. I tried this one and to be honest it smells and taste just like the Taco Seasoning packets without all the additives and it has less sodium.

I adjusted the original recipe just a bit:

What You Need:

1/2 cup plus 2 TBSP chili powder

2.5 tsp garlic powder

2.5 tsp onion powder

2 tsp red pepper flakes

2.5 tsp oregano

3 tsp paprika

1/4 cup plus 1 TBSP cumin

1/8 cup salt (you can add or reduce this if you want)

1/4 cup finely ground pepper

A few tips:

This makes a lot and it usually lasts us anywhere from 4-6 months. I store mine in an old salsa/pasta jar and close the lid really tight.

Make sure you have plenty of chili powder, cumin, and black pepper because is calls for a lot!

Spice Art!
Spice Art!

 

I usually just start at the top of the list and add them to the jar one ingredient at a time. It looks so pretty! Like those little sand art bottles you used to make as a kid but this one smells amazing!

After you get all the ingredients in the jar shake it to mix everything together.  Shake it up again when you are ready to use it in a recipe.

2.5 TBSP equals approximately 1 store bought packet of Taco Seasoning.

This can be used in so many great recipes! Two of my go to ones are: Taco Meat and Taco Soup.

 

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Taco Soup | pinchedfortime

Leave a comment