Easy Homemade Pie Crusts

Unbaked Pie Crust Shell

Unbaked Pie Crust Shell

This recipe came from my husband’s grandmother. When my mom-in-law mentioned it to me, I was surprised at how easy the recipe was. One of the things I love about it is that it makes 6 regular pie crusts!! You must know by now that if I can make something in bulk and save some for next time, it’s a HUGE added bonus for me!

What you Need:

pie crust 1

All Mixed Up

4 cups all purpose flour

2 cups Crisco

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 ½ teaspoon salt

Mix to crumble. I mix it together in my kitchen aid mixer using my dough hook.

 Add:

1 beaten egg

½ cup water

1 Tablespoon white vinegar (I know this sounds weird but trust me it works!)

Mix lightly to a soft dough.

Turn out onto a well-floured surface.  Roll it out and shape into a rectangle.  Divide into 6 sections.

pie crust 4

Divide & Freeze

If you are freezing them, then wrap tightly in plastic wrap, then wrap in freezer paper. Label and freeze.

To thaw – take out however many pie shells you need and set them on the counter or let it thaw in the fridge.

 

3 Comments

Leave a comment