It’s Salsa Time!

salsa 3We went to a party a few months ago and tried the best Salsa ever! We’ve been wanting to make our own for awhile, and the lady gave us the recipe.  Salsa is a GREAT snack. My husband eats a small bowl for a late night snack just about every night. Several recipes call for it so by making your own you are cutting back on even more preservatives going into your foods!

This works best if you have a food processor as it can hold more than a blender. I only have a blender so I split the ingredients and did it in two batches and then mixed it all in a big bowl before I bottled it up. As you can see in the picture, I reused an old Salsa jar that we bought from Wal-Mart. Don’t throw away those old salsa jars/bottles. You can save money and reuse them to store your homemade Salsa or soups, etc.

What you need:

1 lg can of whole peeled tomatoes (No Salt Added)

4 Large tomatoes

1 med onion

1/2 bushel of fresh cilantro (pull the leafy tops off the stems- it’s ok if you leave a little bit of the stems).

1 Jalapeno

2 TBSP of garlic salt

2 Tsp Minced Garlic

I add my ingredients as I get them ready.

I add my ingredients as I get them ready.

Quarter the tomatoes (don’t chop because the blades will do that for you), dice the onions,  and chop the cilantro.   If you are doing it in a food processor and it will hold all of the ingredients go ahead and add them in as you get them ready.  If you are using a blender then I would put 1/2 the ingredients in and put the other 1/2 in a bowl to keep your workspace clean.  Once the first batch is done, do the second batch.

USE GLOVES!

USE GLOVES!

You’ll want to add the Jalapeno in before you blend it in the food processor. If you are using a blender, I usually put this in with the last batch. A careful note when dealing with Jalapenos that I learned the hard way – the SEEDS are what make it HOT! I STRONGLY suggest using gloves when dealing with a Jalapeno. The first time I made the Salsa, I did not and then I touched my neck and it burned all day long! Cut the stem off of the Jalapeno.  Cut it in half and take the seeds out.  Add 1/4 of the seeds to the Salsa to begin with and set the rest of the seeds off to the side. If you decide it’s not hot enough, you can always add more.  Next, cut the outside pieces of the Jalapeno in half again. You should have 4 pieces. Chop those four pieces and add to the Salsa. Blend together.

If you used a blender, add the two blended batches together in a big bowl and stir it up really well. Taste! If it’s not spicy enough, add more Jalapeno seeds. If you got it too spicy, you can add additional tomatoes (blended) to off-set the temperature.

A cleaning note for your blender: I just learned this recently so I’m sharing to hopefully keep you from getting cut by the blades! Your blender may come apart from the bottom. The bottom of mine screws off and I can pull the blades out instead of reaching my dishcloth down inside it! Maybe I was the only person that didn’t know that, but just in case thought I’d share!

The bottom of your blender may screw apart for easy cleaning!

The bottom of your blender may screw apart for easy cleaning!

Leave a Reply

